PDA

View Full Version : social media--what should i be doing?

huggytree
12-11-2013, 03:04 PM
Ive been told by a few other contractors now that they spend 2-5 hours a week on social media promoting their business

where should I be? what should I be doing?

Freelancier
12-11-2013, 03:13 PM
They're spending that time... but are they making any money through that marketing channel?

huggytree
12-11-2013, 03:17 PM
some are telling me their website gets them 10-30 calls a week....right now im getting maybe 1 call a week at the most....so I know what my possibilities/goals are now

are you saying social media ( twitter and the like) wont help me get any business? (im not sure)

my wife has been playing around with this stuff and passing it through her friends...I think im up to 50 likes....I am trying to send out 1 message a week trying to sell a specific product....so far it actually got me 1 small plumbing job....it just helped remind a distant friend of hers that I was a plumber

Freelancier
12-11-2013, 04:09 PM
are you saying social media ( twitter and the like) wont help me get any business? (im not sure)

Not saying that. I'm saying that if someone is spending 2-5 hours a week on it, you'd want to know if it was landing them any jobs (not just calls). If you think your best customers would engage you through social media, then you should be there. If you aren't, then time to figure that out before you go spending 2-5 hours per week that you could spend on something more productive.

Wozcreative
12-11-2013, 04:36 PM
some are telling me their website gets them 10-30 calls a week....right now im getting maybe 1 call a week at the most....so I know what my possibilities/goals are now