PDA

View Full Version : New Bookkeeping Business Questions

pmsmith2032
01-23-2014, 03:48 PM
I am going to be starting a bookkeeping business in the near future and I have a couple of questions:

1. I am currently planning on starting this business as a sole proprietorship. Ideally I would like to set it up as a LLC but it costs $500 in my state to do so. Since I am starting this on a shoe-string budget, I feel the sole proprietorship is my best option. What are the disadvantages to this? How difficult is it to change it to a LLC in the future?

2. I am an accountant and have my MBA in accounting. However, I do not have my CPA. My concern is that I am not very well-versed on what a bookkeeper actually does. I don't really remember taking any classes on bookkeeping. Is there some sort of inexpensive/free class I can take online? Do I need to work part-time for a bookkeeper for a couple months to gain some experience and get a better grasp of responsibilities?

Thanks in advance!

vangogh
01-24-2014, 02:07 AM
Welcome to the forum pmsmith2032. The main reason you form an LLC over a sole proprietorship is the limited liability protection. I don't know if there are any tax benefits. There possibly are, but I think an LLC is treated similarly to a sole proprietorship where the IRS is concerned. Don't hold me to that though. The main reason people form one is the liability protection. If you own your home it's an asset you no doubt want to protect. The protection is limited, which is something to keep in mind and just because you're a sole proprietor it doesn't mean you're going to lose your assets. You can change to one later. It'll cost the same thing it does now and maybe there's some extra work in the accounting for the year you switch entities.