PDA

View Full Version : Payment Option

joei3316
02-17-2014, 05:17 PM
This is my first time starting a Business. I am selling construction materials as an agent. I do not buy inventory from manufacturers. I simply set my own price based on the price that the manufacturer gave me, and I earn the difference.

My question is, what kind of payment options do I have for my customers. Since I will be targeting customers from outside my local area, face to face payment(either cash or cheque) is probably not a good option.

Does anybody know how they usually take care of the payment for B2B construction materials? More specifically, when do they pay? Do they pay before or after the material arrives? Or they paid some deposit first, and then the rest when the material arrives?

I've done some research and came up with a view option.

- Setting up an account with my customers. (In another word, become their supplier and business partner)
- online payment/ Bank electronic transfers.
- Or let the manufacturer handle the payment, and then the manufacturer pays me a certain amount?

Please let me know When and How I should take care of this payment issue. Thanks in advance.

Fulcrum
02-17-2014, 05:27 PM
Talk to the manufacturer and see what they recommend. I've got no experience with drop shipping so I can't help beyond this.

huggytree
02-17-2014, 05:48 PM
as a plumber I buy materials daily

I get the materials and then get a invoice at the end of each month with 30 days from there to pay..many offer 1-2% off for quick payment

your getting into a field where you need millions..

when I do a job I pay for all my materials and then sit and wait for 30 days to collect my $$ back along with the profit........your going to be doing a similar thing....problem is most wont pay in 7 days like I do...and some will go under and never pay you.