PDA

View Full Version : starting information security consultancy

vivek
02-20-2014, 03:51 AM
Hi folks,
I am a final year PG student doing my Mtech course in Cyber Forensics and Information Security.I ,with a couple of my friends , would like to start a security consultancy business when we get passed out.But we are so curious about the feasibility since we don't have any experience.So it will be helpful if you guys would care to give us any tips and advices regarding starting an information security consultancy,Or any other business ideas related to this field.

Regards
vivek

MyITGuy
02-20-2014, 02:14 PM
Hi folks,
I am a final year PG student doing my Mtech course in Cyber Forensics and Information Security.I ,with a couple of my friends , would like to start a security consultancy business when we get passed out.But we are so curious about the feasibility since we don't have any experience.So it will be helpful if you guys would care to give us any tips and advices regarding starting an information security consultancy,Or any other business ideas related to this field.

Regards
vivek

My recommendation - Go to work for someone else first. This gets you the experience you need as well as the opportunity to see what another/other companies are doing right or wrong.

Sean_DeSilva
02-22-2014, 09:27 AM
You have the perfect story to do cross-country interview. Find other business owners in noncompetitive parts of the country that you can interview over the phone, perhaps in exchange for $50 donated to their favorite charity. as long as they understand that you will never compete with them you can learn quite a bit from this exercise and shave much of the learning curve away.

junglepreneur
02-26-2014, 04:10 AM
Hello Vivek,

you can consider White Hat Hacking first... Using TOR and AWS you could slightly scan big corporates for intrusion and vulnerabilities points.