PDA

View Full Version : Is there a large enough market for this online business?

manbearpig0
02-28-2014, 10:13 PM
So some background, I want to sell motorcycle stunt/crash cages. Im majoring in engineering. I came up with a design that will allow me to produce each one approximately 8 times faster (literally) than they are currently being made today by motorcycle shops AND at a lower production cost. I plan to sell these stunt cages primarily online and probably have other motorcycle shops sell them for me and pay them commission.

I want to accurately calculate how much i will be selling. How would I go about doing this? There seems to be plenty listings of them on ebay, none on craigslist, and a few on motorcycle forums. Is there an accurate way I would be able to determine how big this market is?? i am EXTREMELY excited to get started on this as i know i will blow my competition out of the water :D

Freelancier
03-01-2014, 06:12 AM
Are there magazines for this particular market? If so, call their news editors and ask if they have come across one of the firms who do that type of research for that market segment. My guess is you won't find the information if the market isn't huge, but you never know. Don't be surprised, though, if you have to purchase that kind of research from the company who did the research... and that they charge a LOT for it.

BrandGeek
03-01-2014, 11:35 AM
Really interesting business. I can't speak to any hard numbers about whether there's a market for this. What I can say is that if you're going to do it, it requires an intense brand focus and a really aggressive marketing effort. This is exactly the kind of business I can see discussed as a success story in Inc. magazine. All the branding needs to be spot on, and the marketing needs to be in line with the brand, and it needs to be relentless. Good luck with this. I really would love to see you turn this into a niche market monster.

Wozcreative
03-01-2014, 01:01 PM