PDA

View Full Version : Can I start a web design business in high school?

thesarklolord
04-03-2014, 10:43 PM
I am a high school student, and I really want to make some money to help my family and myself. I would go the normal route and try to get a day job while in school or work during the summer, but I attend a boarding school and so a day job is not an option. I want to begin working now and not limit myself to the summer. My main, and most marketable, skill is my programming ability, so I think I could do well with web design. Because of my age, I'm ineligible for a number of freelance sites, so here's my question: Can I start a web design business from the dorm, or is this something that requires face-to-face contact with clients? Is it even reasonable or legal to try something like this at my age? any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Bonus question: Should I be paying for/setting up my client's hosting/domain name or should I just design the website (html files, resources, etc) and leave finding/paying for a domain and hosting to them?

Startup steps that I have plenned so far are:
1. Design my own website to show to potential clients
2. Find a couple of jobs, offer them for a lower than usual price or free to build up a portfolio
3. Add those sites to my portfolio, ask for referrals, up price, get more clients
4. Continue?

Wozcreative
04-05-2014, 12:20 PM
Chances are you are not going to have many clients who know anything about hosting. You'll have to do the research yourself and find the best hosting company for what they need. You can get them to pay for it and set up their own account once you find one that fits the bill.

To answer your questions: 1 - 4: Yes.