PDA

View Full Version : Business with DIY Electronics Projects

Jimut
05-04-2014, 06:20 AM
I am a electronics freak, I have knowledge on intermediate digital and analog electronics. I want to start a business by writing educational blog, or more like tutorials, and by the side I want to sell some electronics equipment that are referred thorough my tutorials. Something like makezine.com and newbiehack.com.

I want to make videos more than articles because I don't like to write much.
I want to give tutorials from basic electronics to some intermediate DIY Projects.

Will it be a smart step to take as a student (19 years)?
Is there any other options that will be more smarter than this?
How do I proceed?

billbenson
05-04-2014, 01:23 PM
It's kind of a hard question. I graduated in 1980 with an electronics degree. Back then you did component level repair and radio shack was thriving. Today, whole boards are made into an IC (I have a friend who basically finds commonly used boards and makes them into a chip and sells them).

Today TV's are throw away items if you have a component failure.

We'd need to know more about what you are trying to do to give an accurate option, but it doesn't seem like a good path to financial success to me.

If I were to start again, I'd look at products and see what I can make the most money at. Many will say do what you have a passion for. I disagree with that. Whether its adult stuff or selling nuts and bolts, it just becomes a product after a while.

Some of the people here have a better chance at keeping it interesting. Web developers for example. They may be developing sites for very different products or applications. That helps to keep things interesting. Most employees or self employed people get up and do the same thing every day. That gets boring even if its something you are passionate about in most cases.

Jimut
05-04-2014, 02:10 PM
Basically I want to earn some money, from the knowledge that I have gathered all these years.