PDA

View Full Version : Pronto: Mobile messaging app for talking to your customers

prontodeveloper
10-02-2014, 06:10 PM
Hello,

I am a small business owner building a mobile messaging app for small businesses. The app enables you (and your employees/co-workers) to chat with your clients. So, if you are busy, the app directs the chat request to the available co-worker's smartphone. This ensures your customers are well-served at all times.

I wanted to know if this is useful for small businesses. Also, is this something you would be willing to pay.

Thanks

Brian Altenhofel
10-03-2014, 02:44 AM
Native app? SMS? Web app?

What makes it different from the many helpdesk apps that are out there?

Freelancier
10-03-2014, 06:04 AM
I see what you're saying: have a way to forward messages to someone or a different device when you're busy. See if you can patent it... or if a patent for it already exists. Might be unique enough that no one has thought of it for chat.

Brian Altenhofel
10-03-2014, 11:13 AM
I see what you're saying: have a way to forward messages to someone or a different device when you're busy. See if you can patent it... or if a patent for it already exists. Might be unique enough that no one has thought of it for chat.

Most helpdesk apps I've evaluated have that sort of functionality via on-call lists and escalation.

Harold Mansfield
10-03-2014, 12:42 PM
I have to agree. What's new about this? And isn't mobile chat or text messaging a little more personal? I mean are people really just texting companies and any response will do? Or do they message specific people in that company?

Also, what's so hard about returning a text message when you are free? In my experience people don't use text messaging in business when the response is urgent, unless they are talking to co-workers and that's the culture of that company.