PDA

View Full Version : In-Home music lessons

Coltrane
10-25-2014, 02:56 PM
Hi everyone!

As you obviously know I'm new here, and am looking for your expert advice and comments/critiques.

I am looking to start an in-home music lesson business. What this would entail is hiring music teachers on all of the instruments, and they would travel to students' homes each week to give them private music lessons.

I currently teach private music lessons on my own, and have a completely full schedule (with a bunch on a waiting list). I teach music in a public school during the day, and have many contacts in the area (Central New Jersey). I have talked to other teachers and they would be on board with this idea- me running the business, setting up lessons, dealing with parent contact, money, etc.

What I'm wondering is how to I actually start this business? I have no prior business experience, only lots of teaching experience. Any and all help/guidance would be greatly appreciated!!

Dave

Owen
10-25-2014, 04:22 PM
Hello, Dave! Welcome to SBF :)

First off, if these are legit staff members, (like they are taxed), then you will want to register as an LLC. An LLC is a limited liability company, which protects you from any financial liability. LLCs are very common with small businesses, since they are great for tax deduction. LLCs are generally cheaper to start, unlike C-Corps with higher state fees (depends on the state). If I were you, I'd write a small business plan, get together with your co-workers, and talk to an attorney. If you want to skip the hassle of an attorney, there's online services that'll help you out :)

Coltrane
10-25-2014, 04:42 PM
Hello, Dave! Welcome to SBF :)