PDA

View Full Version : How to set up payroll and your books

FancyNancy
01-06-2015, 05:49 PM
My boyfriend and I are opening up a small diner. I am responsible for payroll and accounting. I have some experience in this field but I'm totally new to doing everything myself. How do you handle payroll? I am really tempted by Intuit's Enhanced Payroll Services but I believe it needs to be used in conjunction with Quickbooks. Has anyone used Quickbooks and Intuit Payroll together? Is it a good value?

Does anyone keep their own ledger and how do you maintain it? I am slightly terrified of this.

Any information would be helpful, especially if you are in the restaurant business!

Thank you!

Freelancier
01-06-2015, 05:54 PM
I use QB and IOP separately and they work fine for the limited number of people I use. Integrating them could probably be easier than the way I'm doing it, just because I was a customer of PayCycle, which became IOP, so I got used to doing it a certain way. Anyway, it's a good value, just because it automates all the painful parts of payroll and taxes.

FancyNancy
01-06-2015, 05:58 PM
Do you use IOP that fills out the tax forms for you or do you do that all yourself? I am not sure how much of a value that is, but it seems significant. Thank you so much for your response!

Freelancier
01-06-2015, 06:10 PM
Yes, IOP fills out all forms for me and electronically submits them to the right government agencies (both state and federal). Often with just a single click (once you get all the accounts set up).

JC
01-06-2015, 06:21 PM
My boyfriend and I are opening up a small diner. I am responsible for payroll and accounting. I have some experience in this field but I'm totally new to doing everything myself. How do you handle payroll? I am really tempted by Intuit's Enhanced Payroll Services but I believe it needs to be used in conjunction with Quickbooks. Has anyone used Quickbooks and Intuit Payroll together? Is it a good value?