PDA

View Full Version : How do I approach other businesses to offer referral incentives?

milesquaredesign
02-05-2015, 02:14 PM
Hi everyone,

I am a designer and I started my business back in 2007 - it has been stagnant for the last few years since I had a couple of kids. I would really like to revive it and get things going again.

One of the things that I have been doing is high end, custom designed wedding invitations and announcements - that sort of thing. I would like to approach other wedding vendors such as bridal shops & event planners, give them postcards that they can hand out to their customers and offer them some kind of commission or something for people they refer to me. So my question is - what is the best way to do this? How do I request a meeting with a store manager & make this kind of offer/request while sounding professional? If I offer a monetary incentive, what kind of percentage would be appropriate? I have never done something like this before so I'm not really sure how to go about doing it, and I don't want to make a fool of myself.

Thanks for your help!

Freelancier
02-05-2015, 02:24 PM
I tend to hesitate when it comes to a referral fee arrangement, just because it's often not enough to get that referral to happen and doesn't "stick" as much as having a personal relationship with the other vendors.

milesquaredesign
02-05-2015, 06:54 PM
Thanks for your response. Can you recommend a good way of developing a personal relationship with vendors? What kind of approach would I take for example? Thanks.

vangogh
02-06-2015, 12:39 AM
I agree with Freelancier about building relationships instead of offering the commission.

You're already doing the work for some people so that should lead to recommendations through word of mouth. That takes time to build, but it does happen. I would think some other vendors, those who work the wedding, will see your work or have a chance to. Just by doing some work you're getting yourself in front of some people.