PDA

View Full Version : What to do if accused of trademark infringement???

thefreshstoreNM
02-26-2015, 01:40 AM
Ok so i have been re-selling sneakers for a couple years now, November of 2014 i decide to open my wings and start an online business and purchase a domain (thefreshstoreus.com). Now recently (02-25-15) I was contacted on FB by a local sneakerhead claiming to own the trademark "The Fresh Store" since 2007. I did the basic whois search and found the domain "thefreshstore.com" is owned by a gentleman out of wisconsin (pretty much irrelevant). Honestly i would like my store name to be -The Fresh Store-but this sneakerhead wants 10k over the course of the next 10 years and 2% of my sales (didnt say profit). Im at a crossroads he lawyered up right away and gave me the offical "48 hours" to cease and desist or take ownership of my business threatened to take all my inventory because I am using his trademark. He doesnt own a store or website so i do not know what to make of this plz help thanks in advance i did all the searching i could but i could not find my situation anywhere thanks!

Freelancier
02-26-2015, 07:19 AM
First of all, do you have proof that he actually owns this trademark? Without that, there's not much to talk about.

Second, if he does own this trademark and you don't want to fight it, you get to rebrand your store (which you've only just recently expanded). He can threaten to take everything from you, but if you take steps to rebrand quickly, his complaints that you used the brand for a short time won't get past the judge and you won't owe him a dime for inadvertent use.

Adel Landman Steyn
02-26-2015, 09:03 AM
There are many trademark / copyright trolls out there.
So, first, make sure he provides you with proof that he actually DOES own the trademark.
Trademarks are also country-specific. Is this person even from the US?