PDA

View Full Version : Reasons for setting up a legal business

johned
03-10-2015, 01:34 AM
This might sound like a silly question but what is the benefits of setting up a business legally rather than just working under a name you give yourself?
I am originally from the UK and moved to the states where I work as a personal trainer and trained my clients in a local park.
I then set up a LLC which costs $800 a year that I pay for CA tax just for having a LLC.
Right now unfortunately business is very slow so was thinking if I should dissolve the company and still work under my company name (maybe copyright the name so no one can take it).
Right now this year I have only made around $350 pounds and I do not see business picking up soon and the $800 is due in April unless I dissolve my company.
So with the fact I am right now making next to no money through my business what benefit is it having a LLC rather than just running a personal training business still suing my company name but it is not technically a legal company?
I appreciate any input. I really want to keep my company and have it grow but I am wondering if it is just a waste of $800 per year right now.

vangogh
03-10-2015, 11:44 AM
Is there a reason why you need to be an LLC? You could dissolve the LLC and become a sole proprietor and still be a legal business. You don't need to be a corporation to be legal. The advantages of an LLC are the limited liability protection and I think some tax benefits. As long as you're ok without those you don't need an LLC. Make sure you keep your trade name. I assume it's registered with the state. You'd want to renew it every year. If someone doses you, you'd be a legal company. You would lose some of the protection of the LLC, but you'd be a legal company. I also find the best way to avoid potentially being sued is to not give anyone a reason to sue you.

johned
03-10-2015, 12:40 PM