PDA

View Full Version : Finished, Unsaleable Goods - How to Account in Inventory

Don
06-13-2015, 04:55 PM
I have a successful craft business. Not sure how to value finished, unsold goods that I have been carrying for a couple of years. They are unsellable
now because I have switched to online sales only and the products only sell well in person-to-person venues.
q. 1 - Is the value of these goods the cost for materials that went into the goods? Or should I also include an estimate of my personal labour involved?
q. 2 - Does this become "dead stock" that I apply as an inventory expense this year, or should I have applied it the year of production.
(In the year of production there were sellable goods that I had at the end of the year.)

turboguy
06-13-2015, 09:16 PM
You can do it pretty much any way you want. If you want to maintain them in your inventory then the cost you should value them for in your inventory is the material and labor cost. If you had employees that did the work then it would be better to only show in your inventory the value of the materials. You also have the option of just writing them off and showing no value which will reduce your taxes. You could also show them at what the salvage value would be in your opinion even if that is 10 cents on the dollar. If you do write them off and later sell them you just show that as income and don't show a change in the inventory.

No, they don't become dead stock that you can apply as an inventory expense. You should have already expensed them when you bought the material. You can't expense them twice.

Don
06-13-2015, 10:48 PM
Thank you.I am not too bright at this stuff and if you could explain how to "write them off" I'd be grateful.
Given these goods were included in my inventory from last year, where do I account for them this year.
For instance if my end-of year inventory last year was $10,000 and I want to write them off this year, what to do?