PDA

View Full Version : Sole Proprietorship, LLC, or other? (Independent Contractor)

AliDMD
07-10-2015, 01:08 AM
I'm a recent dental graduate and will begin working at a local dental chain next month. At my last meeting with the owners, I was told that I will be considered an independent contractor, as are all of the other dentists who work for them, and that I will need a business bank account. Although I will need a "business" account, it will not be an actual business. There will be no growth and I won't be hiring any employees, other than myself. All I would need it for is to receive my pay every month and move a percentage of it to my personal account, leaving behind money to pay quarterly taxes. Knowing this, would the recommendation be to have a sole proprietorship with a DBA associated with the business account, or make an LLC/other? If it's just a sole proprietorship with DBA, am I still eligible for business tax deductions and other write-offs, or would I need an incorporated entity? I'm getting an initial consult with a CPA early next week, but I'm trying to learn as much as I can beforehand so I can have a decent conversation with him. I know a lot about dentistry, but they don't teach us much on business! lol Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

vangogh
07-10-2015, 02:15 AM
The sole proprietorship will be the easier way to set up. It's how I'm set up. I registered my business name with the state and I have a business account at the same bank as my personal account. Business money goes in and out of the business account and I transfer money to my personal account as needed. It really doesn't make a difference if you're a sole proprietor, because as far as the IRS is concerned you and the business are the same thing.

You still get to take deductions on your income tax. There will be new forms to fill out and it might be good to have an accountant do your taxes, because an accountant will know about more possible deductions than you will.