PDA

View Full Version : Marketing software to small business

vaughn31
07-23-2015, 12:03 AM
Hi folks - this is my first post (other than my quick intro in the newbies section) but I'm trying to get some ideas on how to market my new CRM software that we built for small businesses. Some quick background: I've been consulting on SugarCRM/Salesforce products for over 10 years now (and 8 as my own company) and one thing here in Canada that we have an issue with is the cost of the products (our dollar is getting killed right now) and the fact that we simply don't have businesses as well versed in technology.

I find that I'm really successful getting people signed up with it when I meet with them face to face. So one approach I am taking is calling all of the regional Chamber of Commerces and trying to setup speaking events and contribute to their newsletters/blogs. So far so good as I already have a few that are on board.

Has anybody else tackled this kind of thing? The product itself has been designed with input from small businesses, it's just I know a lot of them might touch Facebook but don't really go out looking for these things which is why I've found MeetUp groups and networking events good so far.

Would appreciate any ideas. Cheers!

-Derek

Fulcrum
07-23-2015, 07:46 AM
I can't really speak to the marketing, but I've seen a direct increase of at least 15% in costs due to the dropping dollar. As of yesterday's market close, I believe I'm paying close to a 31% exchange (I'll figure it out when a package comes in today/tomorrow).

vaughn31
07-23-2015, 11:42 AM
Hi Brad,

Yeah on the consulting side of my business I'm getting more calls from the USA and we've won deals recently because of the discount. Silly as it sounds, it almost feels like if a US-based customer dealing with us in Canada can wait a week and get another 2 - 5% discount without us discounting anything. It's crazy.

David Hunter
07-23-2015, 11:51 AM
Hey Derek,