PDA

View Full Version : Starting out ..... help!!!

Dongybear
08-18-2015, 07:38 AM
Hi everyone,

A quick brief:
I was a hairdresser and beauty therapist for 8 years before deciding I no longer wanted a minimum wage job and retrained as an accountant. I have now decided I want to go back to the career I was more suited too but I want my own salon.

I'm just wondering how people survived/lived with other financial responsibilities as well as the new business costs? I'm a single mum to two children and I'm pretty much debt free apart from my car finance but do have 2 credit cards free with a total of £4000 available to use if I need it on them. I have also applied for a business start up loan but it all seems a bit daunting at the minute. I'm just wondering how I'll pay my rent and buy food etc in the first few months that are bound to be hard.
Did anyone lese feel like this? How did you all manage?

Thanks
Melissa

Fulcrum
08-18-2015, 08:20 AM
I don't know the rules in your area, but keep your day job and start cutting hair from home in the evenings if possible. This will help with keeping overhead down maintaining some income during your start up.

Dongybear
08-18-2015, 09:09 AM
Thanks Brad, I have been doing that anyway for the last four years but its too much doing both so I was thinking of just plucking up the courage and taking the plunge. :confused:

MyITGuy
08-18-2015, 10:24 AM
The recommended way to go out on your own would be to have the cash reserves to sustain your personal spending/bills while you build the business, in addition to your business expenses.

I'd recommend at least 1-2 years of expenses as a reserve.

Dongybear
08-18-2015, 10:34 AM