PDA

View Full Version : Benefits of Cloud Accounting Software?

StuartCrawford
08-28-2015, 06:52 AM
Hello All,

Theses days, I am trying a new cloud accounting software for bookkeeping and other invoicing task. I am new to accounting field and want to know the benefits of moving to cloud.

Freelancier
08-28-2015, 07:17 AM
You (and everyone else) can access it from anywhere without having to set up a computer dedicated to that software... and instead of paying once and owning it for years, you have to pay monthly. That's about it.

Brian Altenhofel
08-28-2015, 08:16 AM
One big benefit in some situations is access to new features without having to upgrade.

Freelancier
08-28-2015, 08:57 AM
One big benefit in some situations is access to new features without having to upgrade.I ran my businesses on QB 97 for nearly 15 years without feeling like I was missing out on any new features. Once an accounting system hits a certain level of maturity, the improvements tend to be very small increments instead of anything business-critical.

I eventually upgraded because I didn't want to load those stupid floppies again for the new accounting VM I was building.

Brian Altenhofel
08-28-2015, 09:56 AM
True, they tend to not be business-critical, but quite often they are productivity enhancements.

jamesray50
08-29-2015, 09:08 AM
Those benefits everyone mentioned are good reasons for using a cloud based accounting program. But not all programs are the same. They may be limited in customization features and may require purchasing add on apps to perform a function you need. I know with QuickBooks online you cannot make a backup. That may seem like an advantage cos you wouldn't have to worry about losing anything. But, you also can't give part of the file to someone else, the IRS for example. Read the fine print carefully to see what to do in the case you decide to stop using the product, how long will have access to the data, what can you do with the data, how do you export the data.