PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Design Firm - help?

sethdamien
12-26-2015, 06:18 PM
Hello, im a graduate of Architecture and a recent passer in our board exam. As i found out, starting my own firm isn't as easy as college made it out to be,lol. but i already drafted out plans on expanding my network.

For now however, i need referrals from people who are directly connected to prospective homeowners - these are real estate brokers/agencies.
In return for their referral, im planning a 20% or higher commission rate for their referral depending on the size of a project.

I also consider this an investment on the real estate broker as land value is only going up and construction is booming and i need as much referrals as i can get...

Is it too aggressive? The conventional way of architects getting clients is too passive - waiting for someone to refer them without any prior action, or until someone notices them.
Sitting and waiting is simply not an option for me.
Sorry for being a little bit too idealistic on this, but what is your take on the matter?

Fulcrum
12-26-2015, 07:12 PM
You need to market, but a 20% commission seems a little steep.

... as land value is only going up and construction is booming

I think 2007/2008 disagrees with this statement.

Harold Mansfield
12-27-2015, 12:07 PM
My suggestion is that you first work for someone to get a lay of the land and learn what you're doing before striking out on your own. It's one thing to watch other people do it, it's another to do it yourself. Working for someone elses gives the opportunity to learn what to do and what not to on someone elses dime. And you get a chance to make connections that you otherwise will not make fresh out of school with no experience.

sethdamien
12-27-2015, 05:59 PM