PDA

View Full Version : Paying Someone To Design Vs. Doing It Yourself?

Owen
01-01-2016, 11:30 PM
I want to run something by you. My partner and I (yes I managed to get one, crazy right?! Yes, it's Ryan again lol) and we're going to be paying a company to build the infrastructure for our company. We're paying about $1,000+ to get it made as we both have pretty high paying part-time jobs. Anyways, I am a professional website designer, and I'd consider myself pretty good, especially with customizing Bootstrap. I can make some pretty gnarly looking websites, on the levels of huge websites. However, whenever I make one I am always critiquing it and changing things, the design is never perfect.

I am wondering if I should pay someone to create a responsive and beautiful design for me or I should just do it myself. Either way it'll look professional and well done like Etsy or Amazon or something. What do you think?

NahidHasan
01-02-2016, 07:16 AM
Though It depends on your availability but I will suggest to use some one else. Or can do it combined :)

Freelancier
01-02-2016, 11:21 AM
Money vs. Time vs. Abilities.

If you don't have time but do have the money, spend the money, regardless of abilities, because web site design is not the most critical thing to your business success.

If you have the time and have the money, outsource based on your abilities. If you have the time, but have no money, you can't outsource anyway, so work on it in your spare time.

If you don't have time or money, rethink your model.

turboguy
01-02-2016, 03:07 PM
It seems to me that to hire a really good professional to make a website that looks like Amazon or Etsy might cost a lot more than you realize. Any new venture has a risk of failure and since you feel you have the ability to do it yourself that was my vote in the poll. Maybe if you can find someone to do it reasonably then that might be a good course. Otherwise do it yourself.

shutupdan
01-02-2016, 03:18 PM