PDA

View Full Version : New to starting a business

JustStartingUp
02-28-2016, 02:31 AM
Hello Everyone,

I'm just starting out and want to start buying equipment for product development over the next few weeks. I also am using one of the rooms in my house as an office. I am still trying to see if my ideas are viable and won't be selling anything in the near future.

1. Is the first step I need to do is setup an LLC?
2. What do I need to do purchase I start buying equipment?
3. Can I use equipment, office supplies I currently have without opening myself up to having the LLC veil pierced?
4. How do I setup the home office for tax purposes?

Please let me know if there any other information I need to worry about, etc.

Fulcrum
02-28-2016, 08:58 AM
1) Depends, what kind of business are you starting?
2) See #1
3) Depending on answer to #1, speak to a lawyer or accountant for legal answers
4) You need a dedicated space for business use only. See #3 for remainder of answer.

You may have noticed a trend in my answers. Due to the limitation of being able to read our own thoughts, we are not able to read the thoughts in your head (long term this is probably a good thing). Can you tell us what kind of business you are starting?

Harold Mansfield
02-28-2016, 12:14 PM
To add to what Fulcrum already said,

1. When you're just starting out especially if you work from home you don't necessarily need an LLC unless you think there's a risk of personal liability for something or some other specific reason. You can easily run as a sole proprietor and just track your expenses and report your income.
https://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Sole-Proprietorships