PDA

View Full Version : Questions about starting a Sole Proprietorship

Sunheal
03-17-2016, 05:19 PM
Hello,

I'm trying to figure out all the necessary steps to start a sole proprietorship in Chandler Arizona. I've recently been contacted for hire work as a 3D modeler for a game publisher. I will be the only employee and plan to use my SSN for my tax id and using my legal name for the business name. I will also be working out of my parents house for the moment.

Basically my main concern is what paperwork I need to file? I read that I don't even need to file paperwork to become a sole proprietorship in Arizona so I'm guessing it then comes down to tax information. Is there any licenses I need as well? Also when I fill out my tax forms I'm not sure how I should go about paying my taxes based on when I get payed. I'm new to all of this.

Thanks for any help anyone can provide me!

vangogh
03-17-2016, 07:07 PM
All you need to do is click your heels three times and say "I'm a sole proprietor, I'm a sole proprietor, I'm a sole proprietor." There isn't anything you technically need to do to become a sole proprietor. You'll fill out different forms on your taxes. Where you used to get a W2 from an employer, now you're now your own employer. You fill out a 1040 Schedule C, which is where you report income and deductions. There will be other forms to fill out, though which ones will depend on your specific situation. You'll also have to start sending estimated taxes to the IRS four times a year (April, June, September, and January). There are some guidelines for how much to send, but you want to send them roughly what you'll owe at the end of the year.