PDA

View Full Version : Class project regarding small businesses' experiences with Alibaba

HaiRuisen
04-09-2016, 05:37 PM
Hello everyone, I am a student at Northwestern University working on a project for a business course I am taking.

I would like it if people here could share stories of their experiences of having worked with foreign suppliers via Alibaba. Perhaps you were uncomfortable about payment processes, experienced a language barrier issue, were outright scammed, or had a seamless business transaction - I would like to hear all kinds of stories, and the more detail the better. If you have previously posted elsewhere on the forum about your experience, and just want to link to it in the responses, that would be great too. (I used the search function, but didn't quite find what I'd be looking for.)

I appreciate it - thank you!

turboguy
04-09-2016, 10:08 PM
I don't think I can add a lot on the topic but I will share what little I can.

About 18 months ago I signed up on the Alibaba web site. At this point in time I have not dealt with any companies I was connected with through Alibaba. I am not sure if I ever will but haven't ruled it out.

One of the problems I have seen was too many suppliers with little differentiation. There are two products that I have looked for on the Alibaba site. One would be a gas engine powered water pump. When I searched I found probably 50 to 100 companies that made them with all of them looking about the same.

The other thing I looked for was a 6 to 1 double reduction gear box. The search returned thousands of gearboxes of all types and it was just hopeless to try to sort through all the offerings some with descriptions only in Chinese to find one that might work for me.