PDA

View Full Version : Importance of Foreign Language Fluency in Business

srhbusiness
08-05-2016, 03:01 PM
Hello to all users here! My name is Steven and I'm writing an article on the importance of being fluent in a foreign language in the business world. I have found some articles on the web on the subject, but I wanted to gain more input from all types of business people (including small business persons). So, I wanted to ask you all here on small-business-forum; Why is learning/being fluent in a foreign language important and vital to your business? Are there any reasons any of you all can think of that shows learning/being fluent in a foreign language is not necessary for a business? Obviously there are different types of businesses out there with different needs, so I would like to get as much input as possible from you all. Thank you for taking time for reading this post and I hope to hear from you all soon.

nealrm
08-05-2016, 04:58 PM
I'll help. I was an engineer for over 20 years. I spent time in both research and manufacturing. In manufacturing, I dealt with suppliers both nationally and inter-nationally. The number of times that I had to have a foreign language amount to ZERO. Most of the worlds business is conducted in English. I have also traveled to both Mexico and Europe, in both cases outside of the tourist areas, again I never needed anything other than English. Last, unlike Europe, throughout much of the US you have to drive hours to find a significant population that doesn't speak English. So the idea that one much be fluent in a foreign language is a bunch of liberal BS. It is a waste to force high school and college students to learn a second language, when their chance of using it continuously so they remember it and can use it is very limited.

This in no way means that if you are planning to move to where a different language is spoken that you shouldn't learn that language.

Harold Mansfield
08-05-2016, 05:18 PM