PDA

View Full Version : Ebay...... How Do People Do It?

SteveS
10-07-2016, 11:08 PM
I don't understand how one can successfully sell on ebay. Well, I get the basic premise of it, as I have tried it before. However, the issue I struggled with is being able to find the right sources for the product. I was able to find the sources for products sometimes, but a lot of the time I was unable to find a source cheap enough to make the whole thing profitable at my end. Frankly, I just don't see how this aspect works. I was able to sell the products, I just wasn't able to find the right source for them to make it profitable. Sorry I am very new to being self employed. I know this is probably a dumb question but I simply am very new to this whole thing.

turboguy
10-08-2016, 11:18 AM
Are you wanting to make a living selling on eBay or just pick up some extra cash?

I have sold stuff on eBay a little but never was very serious about it. I used to sell gas powered water pumps on there and did well. I have occasionally sold the products we manufacture on there but haven't done that lately.

My son sells on there just to pick up some extra money. He goes to garage and yard sales and looks for things that he can resell at a nice profit. He picked up one necklace for a few bucks that he sold for $ 5,000 and a painting for less than a hundred that he sold for thousands. He also has a vintage jewelry web site that generates some sales for him.

I had a friend who was unemployed for a while and survived hitting close out at stores, buying bargains and reselling them on eBay.

If you are wanting to be more serious and have the cash to get into it in a big way you could source some low priced products from China. One option is to sign up on Alibaba and you can get access to lots of low priced Chinese stuff.