PDA

View Full Version : Drones

turboguy
12-04-2016, 04:18 PM
I am starting to think about buying a drone with the goal of getting some pretty cool videos of my products in action. Possibly some cool photos as well but the videos are my top priority. I see a cheap one on Amazon that looks pretty cool but I don't want to cut corners. I am thinking about either a DJI Phantom 3 or a DJI Phantom 4 at the moment but am quite flexible and don't even know enough about drones to ask intelligent questions. So I am wondering if anyone has a drone and has any suggestions or recommendations either about models or features I should look for.

Harold Mansfield
12-04-2016, 04:31 PM
I watch Know How on the Twit network and they talk about drones a lot. I've also watched a few drone races on ESPN from time to time and have gotten to know some of the brands, although I'm no expert and don't own one myself. .

DJI is a good brand.
Go Pro's new Karma has also gotten good reviews :https://shop.gopro.com/karma
Parrot is also well respected: https://www.parrot.com/us/Drones#decouvrez-notre-gamme-

I think it all comes down to what kind of environment you'll be flying in,and the capabilities/ resolution of the camera, or do you want just the drone and will out fit it with your own camera. Go Pro, Sony and many others make stand alone cameras for mounting.

Here's a PC World article that puts some of the best brands side by side.
The Best Drones of 2016 | PCMag.com (http://www.pcmag.com/roundup/337251/the-best-drones)

turboguy
12-04-2016, 04:58 PM
Thanks for the feedback Harold. I am looking for one with a camera. I don't have a Gopro or other camera that would work. I have seen a bit on the Parrot and did watch the video promotion on the GoPro but GoPro is a little new and have already had a call back so I am inclined to rule them out just because they are new. I will be doing some research for a bit but will look at Parrot and DJI

Harold Mansfield
12-04-2016, 05:14 PM