PDA

View Full Version : New to the Business World

Laozi
07-07-2017, 01:42 PM
Hello Everyone,

I would love some help/criticism on my business idea/plan. First off let me introduce myself; my name is Bryce, I'm 28 and married. No kids for the foreseeable future due to my wives PCOS. (I say this because the more info you have about me the better your criticism will be) I currently work in the IT field and want to transition to a business owner as this has been a dream of mine for a while now. I want to open in the next 10 or so years. I have no money for a down payment at this time so any advice on people that would finance something like this would be fantastic. I love working with numbers and have came up with a spreadsheet to pretty much forecast/keep track of month - month earnings. (I'll attach it if I'm allowed to).

I want to open a bar/hang out for young people. I plan to have open mic nights (I have a few buddies that can host), local band shows (little gigs to draw people in) and Superbowl showings on a huge projector screen.

By my estimates I'll need about $360,000 to open the doors IF I start from scratch. If I find a place to buy that is a whole other beast to tackle. (why are they selling, do they meet code, what will I have to renovate) I've factored everything I can think of into this spreadsheet I mentioned before so please tell me if I missed something or did a calculation wrong. And I know that they are just predictions and not real figures but it helps me get an idea of what I need to earn per month/year.

I don't have a business plan and would need some guidance on how to make one. I've found a few articles online but I would love to see someones to get an example of what it should look like.

Fulcrum
07-08-2017, 10:51 AM
Look up posts from Harold Mansfield. He's been in that industry and has written about starting up and running.

vangogh
07-08-2017, 11:04 AM
Welcome to the forum Bryce.