PDA

View Full Version : question about start up costs

gib99
09-14-2017, 10:39 PM
Hello,

I'm studying this business plan (http://www.bplans.com/computer_software_business_plan/company_summary_fc.php) and I'm wondering how they break down the chart at the link above.

They break it down by expenses, assets, investments, and loans.

The way I read this is: to start out with, they have roughly $100,000 in loans, $145,000 in investments, $220,000 in assets, and are willing to allocate $22,500 out of pocket.

I'm not sure if all of this is reflected in the tables, either the one above or below the graph. The one above the graph is simply the assets and services the business needs to start up. The one below *seems* to be a break down of the graph. It goes by a few different terms (liabilities instead of loans), but I think in one way or another it represents a break down of the graph.

Am I right?

I think I need to understand these terms better.

Business Attorney
09-15-2017, 01:29 AM
I understand the numbers they use in the template but I think it is a very confusing way to present the information. The graph, particularly, seems to serve no purpose. Expenses plus assets are the "use of funds" and the loan and investments are the "source of funds". Combining them in a single graph seems strange. I wouldn't use a visual at all, but if I did, I would use two pie charts labeled "source of funds" and "use of funds".

Further, listing a bunch of expenses totaling $22,500 and then listing an asset of "Cash required" as an asset without any explanation of what the cash is required FOR, makes no sense.

Keep in mind that this is only a template. If you are doing your own business plan, I would hope that your numbers would make more sense than the ones plugged into the template for illustrative purposes.

gib99
09-16-2017, 11:37 AM