PDA

View Full Version : Opening a Sister Company - Partnership Agreement

WallaceStevens
01-23-2018, 01:59 PM
Hi,

I am looking for advice on an important business venture I am about to embark on. I am 32 years old and I've been working at a small studio for 9 years. I started as a designer when the studio only had 8 employees and have moved up to become Art Director and Project Manager. The studio now employs about 20 workers. The studio is owned by 2 brothers, with almost equal share between them. I have become the 3rd most important person in the company. Throughout the years we have had an excellent work relationship and my bosses have always been fair to me - giving me more responsibility and being compensated for it. About a year and a half ago I was offered to be a partner of the company - there was talk of giving me a small percentage (1-3%).

When I recently married, my wife and I began thinking of relocating to the US. My bosses always dreamed of opening a second branch of the studio in the US but the right opportunity never presented itself. When I told them about my plans to relocate we immediately started talking about me opening the studio in the US. My main role would be to bring in new business and as well as manage the US projects - while most of technical work will still be done in the main studio. It is assumed by all partied that at first I will be the only one working at the US studio and only once it becomes necessary to hire employees (because of work load and other factors). I will soon begin negotiations in more detail. This is the first time I go through something like this. The advise I am looking for is in regards to partnership structure, salary, percentage split, and relocation package. Of course I will eventually consult with a lawyer who will look at the contract, but I wanted to get preliminary information for the negotiations. Some information to consider: