PDA

View Full Version : would you be considered a good customer for your own business?

huggytree
03-05-2010, 08:55 PM
i am a plumber for the upper middle class over all....i never sell to low income customers...and your average blue collar worker rarely uses me...my customer base is people who want to spend alittle more to get more....i used to be very frugal, but the older i get i tend to buy high end products...im becoming the customer i serve...im not 100% there, but probably 75% there.

i did some work this week for a friend...he's a high end photographer...he charges alot....it shocks me a bit its so high....when i told him what i charge to repair his plumbing he immediately asked for a discount....i said no....so i go and fix the plumbing and he's going all over the house trying to find more and more to fix...to get his full 1 hour min. worth...he kept on talking about my prices....i gave him $20 off since he's sort of a friend and since it was only 35 minutes....i probably lost money on the job...drove 45 minutes to work 35...then he still made comments about how much tradesman make as i walked out the door....i figure he makes more than me...yet he's got to complain and complain about someone making the same....i probably wont help him next time...let him pay full price from someone else....

he also asked to trade hours..i said no...i told him id pay him full price when its time and he should pay me full price...

he's a high end photographer who would not be a good customer for his own business...he wants to charge the most and then pay the least to everyone else...

he paid me $140 and told me to hold the check for 2 days...he didnt even have $140 in his checking...

are you a good customer?

Steve B
03-05-2010, 10:53 PM
I wouldn't be a customer of mine. But, that's how I got into the business. It's something I chose to do for myself because I'm handy. So, I'm targeting people who are NOT like me and want/need to hire someone else who is handy.