PDA

View Full Version : About Job Searching and Resume Sites

jamestl2
03-12-2010, 07:29 PM
I've been a bit busy over the past few months looking for an actual job, since I graduated really (not that I'm really dying to get one, I'd like to have spent more time developing my business, but I still need it for reasons such as immediate income, health insurance benefits, moving out soon, etc.)

Here's what I've done so far off the top of my head:
My Cousin put in a good referral for me at the company he works for (Epic.com) and an Aunt of mine also told me of a good place that might be able to use me. Unfortunately, neither of those places were looking for someone with my specific skillsets (despite the "networking referrals").

I've sent out my resume to several "resume sites" including MilwaukeeJobs, Yahoo HotJobs, SnagaJob, and Monster. And as for actual listings I've found on these resume sites, (I probably sent out about a hundred responses to Milwaukeejobs, and probably about 10 to 20 more per each of the other sites) and NONE of them have even bothered to acknowledge that I applied to their available positions, let alone contacted me for something to even consider me by (you know, like a personal email or an interview request or something).

OK I shouldn't say that's completely accurate, so far two companies have found my resume via HotJobs, however those two just happen to be scam organizations that have absolutely nothing to do with what I posted on my resume or what skills I have to offer (one of them was specifically asking me to collect money from targeted individuals and transfer the funds to a Swedish bank account, crazy!).