PDA

View Full Version : Hello Small Business Forum

EndersGame
08-02-2011, 07:47 PM
Hello everyone.

I am sure glad I found this site. Seems to be the most active business forum I have found yet.

I am in my early 30s, originally from California (22years in SoCal) and currently live in North Carolina

I have done all types of sales (retail, demonstration, phone) but I am new to outside sales. I recently started working for a small company that manufactures wood finishing materials (laquers, stains, sealers) and industrial coatings for plastic and metal.

The company I work for is struggling. And the owner insists on having me cold call lists of potential buyers. That is actually how I found this site. I was looking for alternatives to cold calling and found the thread "how to handle cold calling rejection".

I am good on the phone, but when most of my time is spent battling complicated phone systems, finding out who to talk to and then leaving a voice mail that doesn't get returned---I'll be honest, it is very discouraging.

To make matters worse, the owner is fairly insistent on doing it this way. I believe its the only way he has ever done it and although the success rate isn't incredible he is stubborn to change. I can't help but thinking of that saying, "the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

So there is no confusion, I am not being paid hourly. All that really matters is that I get sales. It is my intention to develop a program, with your fine advice and suggestions and present a complete marketing strategy on Thursday. A plan of attack if you will.

We have a limited budget, but I still think with our existing customers, and possibility of referrals plus a few things I am sure you will contribute, I can make a serious go of it without cold calls.

vangogh
08-03-2011, 12:54 AM