PDA

View Full Version : determining a new partnership agreement, perecentages and salary

minadimetry
09-13-2011, 11:01 PM
i am looking to enter into a new partnership with a friend that has currently owned his pizzaria for 4 years, i have some experience in the food business but not in the pizza business. i have found a great location that i initially wanted to do a franchise in but was not able to due to other tenants conflict of interest so i turned to my friend to see if he wanted to join me in the opportunity. we are going in with 50% each financially however i could put more. he will only be helping me run the resturant in the begining but then it will all be me. my questions are:
1- what should the percentage be ?
2- if we do 50/50 should i take a salary or get paid hourly for managing the business ?
3- should i have more decsion making authority ?
4- what should the operating agreement include ?

vangogh
09-14-2011, 12:30 PM
Welcome to the forum Mina. Always a tough question and ultimately one I think only you and your partner can really answer. There's no specific set of rules to follow when determining percentages and salary. In the end I think you both have to agree to something you both find fair. Having said that here are some thoughts.

Assuming you both do put in 50% each financially neither one of you would likely merit more or less of the business based on financial contribution alone. Obviously that changes if you end up putting more in.

It sounds like you'll be doing more of the work long term so you would naturally deserve a larger part of the business for that. In fact it sounds mainly like your friend is going to invest something in the business and help you get started and then it's really going to be you running things. Is that right? If that's the case and since your investment will be the same as your friends it does make sense for you to get the larger share of the business.