PDA

View Full Version : Why You Should Learn Database Programming

billbenson
11-22-2011, 08:29 PM
I was just thinking about this today and thought I'd make a post:

When I lost my career in 1999 and couldn't find a job in the dot com economic crash I bought a dummies book on web design and conned my way into a web design job. While doing that, I could see the value of databases for web sites. The benefits of giving custom web pages to different customers, quote generators, displaying different products on prior search history etc. So I bought a book on php / mysql and learned to program databases. That's 12 years ago. I'm not a good programmer or fast, but if I wanted something I always have been able to make it work.

What I didn't realize at the time is how important writing database programs would be to a sales business. Because of some luck, my website brings me more business than I can physically handle as a one man show. I started by doing quotes in Excel. I could have done what most people do and migrate to Quickbooks, but since I could do it in php, I just wrote a quote generator in php.

That database has grown into one that automates or minimizes the work required for many aspects of my business. One database can do quotes and orders, track customer activity, create custom web pages etc. What it really does for me is custom automation. Think of it as a custom automatic sprinkler system. Waters the bushes, shrubs, grass at different intervals at the push of a button and can be changed by season or other weather conditions.

Take someone like Ann. It probably doesn't make sense for her now as she has most of her processes in place, but she manages a lot of data that is shared between different functions. Inventory, popular items, customer lists... Had she started a database when she started the business it probably could be far more streamlined today. Ann, I'm not recommending you change, just using you as an example.