PDA

View Full Version : Did you really think I was going to quietly sit in the corner?

TimPiazza
12-13-2011, 01:01 AM
Nope, not when I have a keyboard in front of me. :)

I was a Sysop on GEnie in the 1980's. I remember GEM. I remember how bad Windows 2.0 was. But I also jacked a Posterous account into Tumblr so I could auto-post to my Wordpress blog from email three years before Tumblr was cool. I guess that makes me sort of a life-long computer nerd.

Anyway, I got "downsized" sort of, about a year ago. Ever since then I have been trying to decide what I want to do with my life. I'd rather work with small businesses rather than corporate accounts. I don't ever want to wear a necktie again.

The biggest struggle this past year has been realizing how much time it takes when you are doing virtually everything yourself. An idea I had last September has taken until this week to bring to life. Granted, I had a false start in there, but I learn quickly.

So, here I am. I'm a small business owner, and I am confronting all of my short-comings while I leverage my strengths as much as I can.

My question to you: How do you stop doubting your vision, your hope? How do you overcome that voice that says "it looks great, but it won't work"? That's the part I struggle with every night when I'm trying to fall asleep.

Tim

fowler
12-13-2011, 04:37 AM
Nope, not when I have a keyboard in front of me. :)

I was a Sysop on GEnie in the 1980's. I remember GEM. I remember how bad Windows 2.0 was. But I also jacked a Posterous account into Tumblr so I could auto-post to my Wordpress blog from email three years before Tumblr was cool. I guess that makes me sort of a life-long computer nerd.

Anyway, I got "downsized" sort of, about a year ago. Ever since then I have been trying to decide what I want to do with my life. I'd rather work with small businesses rather than corporate accounts. I don't ever want to wear a necktie again.