PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Web Design small business

IacosaR
01-01-2012, 11:01 PM
hello, i have a question that has stopped me to start a new business in Canada.

Basically, How do I know if I have enough knowledge to start a business as a web designer.

I have experience in sales, management and customer service. Also, I have knowledge of html, css, photoshop and Flash.

I'm in the first year of a computer Science program, and 5 years ago I studied engineer in computer in Mexico.

I'm looking to have a small business that I can run in my free time (mornings and evenings)but i don't want to screw up losing customers.

so i'm looking for some advice.

tks

SteveM
01-02-2012, 11:00 AM
That's a tough question to answer for anyone but yourself. Once you go into business for yourself, most people find themselves in a situation of "the more you know, the more you realize you don't know!"

If I were you, I'd start with the basics:

1. What's your business plan and marketing plan?
- How do you intend to convince a business owner or anyone to use your services?
- How do you intend to compete with DreamTemplate, Yahoo Business, GoDaddy, 1&1, and the other 1,000's of website development/template companies out there?
- What is your pricing structure going to look like?
- What sort of add-on services will you or can you offer - email marketing? SEO? Website Hosting?
- What does your portfolio look like and how large is it?
- Has anyone you know asked you for your services previously?
- How much time and money do you have available to throw at this project?
- Do you really need the money, or would it start as more of a hobby business?

The list could go on and on, but ultimately you are the only person who really knows the answer.

When it comes to business in general, everything is tougher than it looks, but anything is achieveable with enough effort.

vangogh
01-02-2012, 12:38 PM