PDA

View Full Version : need some feedback on this interesting situ this week

westrig
04-21-2012, 12:24 PM
Nice to be a member of this forum it looks pretty good, now here's my situ

Back story :
I cannot go into detail as exactly the type of work involved here but you will get the point.
My profession is in a highly specialized/ risk field. In our area there is not a very big pool to draw from for this type of work.
Worked for a local company, let's call them company X, on and off for many years part time on call, no contract involved. This company is basically a satellite branch with other offices in other states providing the same service. providing unskilled labor and a skilled high risk smaller crew as well.
Not many can be hired off the street and perform this type of work, there is some training and a period of learning etc to build skills confidence etc.
Alot of this happens on the job So the amount of company investment $ is minimal.
This particular company hires employees on an on-call part-time basis. They will even deny unemployment claims based on this. no bene's etc.
The director has a history of " if you work for another outfit ( in the same field) you will not work for us" Even though the employees are not under any contract. when its busy they can work 30-50 hrs for a week here and there seasonally and when slow 10-15 or not at all for weeks.

Recently since I had not persued or have gotten any work calls from them. i secured a few one off jobs where I used several of my old co workers out the company X who were available. Company X had put a bid in for the same jobs but i under bid and won.
they did wind up providing some low level labor not associated with my contract.
btw:I am set up as an LLC and it is intentioned for a huge contract that will start in a year so I was/am not actively looking for other jobs right now, the below contract was just good timing.

Here's where it gets juicy: