PDA

View Full Version : Startup Business questions

extremeshannon
10-27-2012, 02:44 AM
Hello everyone I am very new to startup a business. I have been reading and reading about what I need to do. I have a few questions that I could really use some help on. My business will be seasonal and start ths spring. I have a lot to get done before now and them. This business is unique, has risks, and liability's.

If I purchase anything between now and the end of this year can I write them off next year as startup? or should I be waiting till next year? i.e. paying for LLC to be setup
I want to break up the company into several LLC's. This will allow different aspects to be protected from the other. I live in AK and from what I have read I can not have any special LLC's like a Service LLC. So looks like I can not create an parent LLC and have Children under the parent. So do I just create seperate LLC's? Then what do I do for tax purposes and money between them all?
Would it be a good idea to use legalZoom or Rocketlawers?

These questions are just a starting point for me.

Thank you
Shannon

Freelancier
10-27-2012, 07:21 AM
I think your first task should be to find a local small business accountant and buy 2 hours of his/her time to answer all your questions and get your structure set up to meet your needs.

First big question: are these going to be single-person LLCs? Single-person LLCs are considered disregarded financial entities (they're still liability shields, but the finances flow directly onto your tax returns without needing its own tax return). If multi-person LLC, then it gets more complicated and we'll need to know more about the structure of the equity partner arrangements.

There's no reason an LLC can't "own" another LLC. There's also little reason that you will need it if all your LLCs are owned just by you. If you're really worried about your liability, get a liability umbrella policy from your homeowner's insurance company.

huggytree
10-27-2012, 09:46 AM