PDA

View Full Version : Hello

OLA
10-29-2012, 07:39 PM
Hello all, My name is Dustin and I am a new small business owner. I opened a saltwater aquarium shop in mid Missouri 6 months ago. This is the first shop of its kind to the area and so far has been (almost) meeting the goals I had projected for it. We offer everything the saltwater enthusiast could need or want as well as custom aquarium design and installs. I had experience in the industry as well as a good deal of market research of my own I put into this project before pulling the trigger and opening the doors. I am a VERY young entrepreneur at just 24 years old and a college drop out just 30 hrs shy of a degree in econ. I saw a void in the market and decided to go for it! Here is a link to my website olaquaria2 (http://www.oceanlifeaquaria.com/)

vangogh
10-30-2012, 12:58 AM
Welcome to the forum Dustin. Exciting time isn't it? One of my friends in college had a salt water tank. I forget the details, but someone gave him a 100 gallon and a 55 gallon tank for free, along with a lot of the necessary equipment to run them. He had some interesting fish.

Not that you are, but don't worry about your lack of a degree. It's not necessary. Seeing a void in the market is much more likely to lead to success.

Looking forward to chatting with you and thanks for joining the community.

OLA
10-30-2012, 12:09 PM
Thanks vangogh! I always tell myself that my boss is not the least bit concerned about me not having a degree. It has been everything from exciting to downright stressful but I'm sure that is all part of it. I never expected owning a business to be a walk in the park

Pack-Secure
10-30-2012, 04:15 PM
Hello and Welcome. It would be cool if the four pictures on your home page were clickable, seems almost a waste of real estate.

JMHO

vangogh
10-30-2012, 09:37 PM
I'm sure that is all part of it