PDA

View Full Version : Hi, I am new here

JessicaLee
11-14-2012, 12:27 PM
My name is Jessica. I am new to this forum so I wanted to introduce myself.
I really do not know what to say about myself except that if my posts sound jumbled or not well thought out, I apologize. I type faster than I think, and rarely re-read something unless it is work related.
I joined this forum because I currently work as a bookkeeper to a man who owns a few businesses and well, his business was in such disarray when I got here that I realized that it would be very nice to hear from other people who have the same responsibilities as I do, and how they get those things done.
I am very open minded and am always looking for new, faster more efficient ways to get things done. So I will bet a majority of my questions will be about: am I doing this right, or how can I do this faster and better.
Even though my thinking is very jumbled right now (giving me the appearance of being practically illiterate), I am actually educated in business. I have taken additional accounting classes, but accounting itself alludes me for some reason. Taxes in particular are absolutely NOT my strong suit. I hate taxes. I enjoy keeping things in order, and knowing something is better because I made it that way (meaning I walked into a business that was all paper and put the whole place on computer and gave the owner tips on spending less in certain areas and so on) but taxes are absolutely not my forte! I wish every business I worked for had a personal accountant for taxes, but small businesses generally do not have people like that on payroll. So anyway, if anyone has any tips on taxes or payroll, those tips would be welcome, as would any others relating to small business ownership and bookkeeping. Thank you :)
Jessica

KristineS
11-14-2012, 01:22 PM