PDA

View Full Version : w9, sales tax and selling in Canada

knight427
12-13-2012, 12:52 AM
I have a hodgepodge of questions relating to an expansion of my business. I have been consulting for about 8 years but just picked up a new line of business selling a piece of specialized software relevant to my field. I am actually selling this to my competitors, but there is a history of this happening in our field...at least this way you know the sales person actually uses the software. Anyway...the questions:

1) I made my first software sale today and they want a W9. I send W9's to my consulting clients all the time, but I can't figure out why I need to send a W9 to a customer who purchased software from my business. Am I missing something?

2) I am based in MN but I will be selling mostly to business outside MN. I have no presence of any kind in any other state. From what I've read, I do not need to charge sales tax unless I sell to someone in MN. Is it really that simple?

3) I am the distributor of this software to Canada as well. Are there any tax issues associated with this?

EDIT: I forgot some other questions relating to health insurance

4) Until this summer I was getting health insurance as a full-time faculty member at a college. That job ended and I got a plan to cover my family (wife doesn't work) on the open market. I can deduct the premiums as a business write off because neither my wife nor I have employer sponsored coverage, right?

I am organized as a Sole-Proprietor, if that is in any way relevant.

vangogh
12-13-2012, 02:11 AM
Welcome to the forum knight24. Your questions aren't in my area of expertise, but I'll try to answer so you get a response.