PDA

View Full Version : Ways to make your business profitable while working full time and going to school?

LoveLouella
01-09-2013, 03:55 PM
I love what i am doing, creating things for my business does not even feel like work. I love doing it in my free time. I am pretty busy and want to find ways to get my business out there. I really want to go to craft fairs...but I can't get myself to pay for a booth, i feel like there are craft fairs where you can get a booth for really cheap or free but i can't find one in MN. Since i am just starting out i don't want to invest too much money if i am not going to make a profit. I want to see where this goes before I invest money in things like this.

henryz
01-09-2013, 05:52 PM
You will always need to invest a little even if it's a simple website, your advantage is that you have a full time job and can help finance your business as it grows, advertising, supplies, inventory or equipment. I'm sure if you look really good on google you will find a small crafts fair in MN.

tallen
01-09-2013, 05:58 PM
There are craft fairs that are put on by commercial promoters, by arts and crafts organizations, and then by locals schools and churches. We have not done the big commercial craft fairs, but have done the latter types. In our experience, the fairs that have been running a long time (20+years) have been much more successful for us than relatively new fairs. Also, if your work is a real hand-made craft, you want to make sure that you avoid fairs that are open to buy-sell vendors -- in other words, look for "juried" arts and crafts fairs (rather than "flea markets"). Finally, consider the demographics of the neighborhood where the fair is being run (and the type of organization that is putting it on) -- make sure your product matches the people (and their pocketbooks); we tend to do better with a slightly more up-scale crowd.