PDA

View Full Version : Joint Venture payment query

SmallFry
01-30-2013, 02:56 PM
Hi

I am a software developer who started own small business mid 2012 and have written a computer program to be used in organisations dealing with training. I helped another business out who have contacts in the area my software will be aimed at so I agreed to a 50/50 partnership, gentlemens agreement, whereby his company will undertake the sales side and 1st/2nd line support and I will concentrate on product development and any "bug fixes" in software.

However, I am wondering if anyone has experience of this type of joint venture as I'm trying to work out the best method of payments. I own the intellectual property and I am the creator of the product, what would your thoughts be around how payments from clients should be processed? My thinking is that, as I am the product owner, his sales team would close the deal, and my company would invoice the client for the full payment to cover the software product for 1st year and 1st year support. Then my "partner" would invoice me for the sale fee, I was thinking perhaps 30% of their split with the remaining 70% of their split being invoiced to my company over the 12 months that they are to undertake supporting the systems?

Does sound reasonable to anyone in the know? I'm very new to this and don't want to come across as a cheeky bugger but by the same token do not want to accept the full liability aginst partner company, if for instance they "went bump" and had already received their entire 50% I would be left with having to service the support to fulfil contracts and also not have 50% of the money the client had paid for this service?????

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Harold Mansfield
01-30-2013, 08:33 PM
Hi