PDA

View Full Version : Bankrupt Business?

jiffybutler
02-04-2013, 03:16 AM
Hi there,
I am a young and aspiring entrepreneur looking to acquire a bankrupt business. I have no experience in this field and therefore need some tips on where and how
to acquire one, and if it's a good idea or not.

I appreciate any advice regarding this field.

Thanks.

Ashkan Akbari

Freelancier
02-04-2013, 07:13 AM
Could be. It depends.

It depends on if it's a business you want to own.
It depends on whether the bankruptcy court -- if one is involved -- wants to sell it to you.
It depends on whether you have the cash to make it work when the previous owners did not.
It depends on whether the creditors want to negotiate with you for some of their money or just have the court liquidate the business.
It depends on whether the business has assets that make it worth the money.

It depends.

But get a lawyer to help you navigate the waters if you have to work with a bankruptcy court.

ozetel
02-04-2013, 07:26 AM
Yes I have had some experience, although in Australia so many of the laws will be different.

Some underlying principles most definitely still the same though (along the lines of what Freelancier has said);

- you really need to know what you are getting into and make a very very well informed decision about the main question in my opinion. If it failed in the past, what do you bring to the table that stops that happening again? Why would it possibly be different?

Be prepared and able to lose money. Be ready to and be able to ask the difficult questions and more importantly be ready to accept the answers to those questions and get out or back away if that is what those answers suggest. If all those obstacles can be climbed over then ok, but this is not a situation you want to go into without absolutes.

My 2 cents from down under anyway!

nealrm
02-04-2013, 01:31 PM