PDA

View Full Version : Jump into the pond, or go into the sea?

csepulveda85
02-22-2013, 05:51 PM
Ok so i have a online business that's going ok, but i plan to open a storefront.
I been searching for the right store for about 6 months now but they are just so expensive!
I really don't want to get into a high paying high traffic store for my first time because im nervous that i may be ahead of myself. I have been looking for a small storefront and finally found one!
BUT the foot traffic is nothing...
The rent is very cheap and they include utilities. Its right around the block from where i live and the owner is willing to do a short term lease since it is my first time....

My question is .. Can a store in a "no traffic" area make it? or am i setting my self up for failure?

There is no way i can be in a high traffic area with out spending a lot for rent.. And for my first time renting a store.. I don't want to get into that financial burden without having the experience that i feel the Small store can give me....

My Business is a fashion and jewelry boutique ... Next to that store is a bar, liquor store, restaurant/ deli/ corner store/ cleaners and day care...

can i make it? what advice can you give me?

vangogh
02-23-2013, 03:37 AM
Location, location, locations. That's the mantra of real estate. I understand not wanting to invest so much, but you have to think of it in terms of the investment. Which location will ultimately provide more for your business. If the lower cost storefront leads to no business, while the higher cost storefront leads to a lot of business you'd be much better off with the higher cost storefront.

Could you possibly negotiate a shorter lease with a high traffic store? Could you get space that you could potentially share with someone who would also share in the costs?