PDA

View Full Version : What do you expect from a web design company?

peacock
03-20-2013, 09:22 PM
Hi all,

I'm currently trying to get a web design business off the ground, and I'm wanting to tailor my services towards small businesses.

I was wondering if i could get some feedback with regards to what small business owners look for from a web designer?

I'm proud of my commitment to customer satisfaction, so I want to make sure that I'm giving my customers exactly what they want.

If you have any stories RE: good or bad experiences with web design companies, I'd love to hear them to figure out what I should be aiming for and of course what not to do.

In your opinion what is the most important factor when it comes to choosing a web designer?

Any feedback is much appreciated! Cheers.

<please set up a signature through Settings>

vangogh
03-21-2013, 12:21 AM
Welcome to the forum James. I'm a fellow web designer so I'm probably not the right person to answer, but I can share some thoughts. The number of people working in a small business can vary. I mention it because a single person business is very different from a business with 20 or 50 people. Most people here are probably micro businesses with 5 people or less in the company.

I'll let the non designers answer your questions, but in working with people I've found developing a connection and relationship has been the biggest factor in helping me get clients. I do my best to listen to what people want when they tell me about what they're looking for in a site. Not just what they say directly, though. I also listen to the things they say when they aren't talking about a site. I think if you help people realize what they want in a site and give it to them it'll continue to lead to more work.

Hopefully that helps a little and also helps get others to notice and respond to your questions.

peacock
03-21-2013, 01:30 AM
Hi Steven, that's great advice, thanks for the response!

youronlinestuffcom