PDA

View Full Version : New to this. Entered Profit Share. What kind of taxes can I expect?

NoBusinessBrains
03-26-2013, 04:06 AM
I'm from the US. I recently entered and help develop a project with a decent amount of potential to offer a better pay day than I've ever seen personally.

So I entered an agreement to 10% of the profit. After distributors take anywhere from 5-30% (mattering on the distributor), I get 10% of what's left.

I'm not considered an employee. I'm a freelancer and if the company becomes successful there's a good chance at some later date I'd become and employee and move there. The company is based in the UK, London.

I don't know crap about taxes. I don't know crap about profit share (just have my contract and a good lawyer who loved it). Profits are defined by any amount of money this product makes (meaning as far as I know they can't lower my money, therefore profits, to pay for a new office and whatnot and also they worry about their taxes AFTER I get the 10%).

Basically, I don't know what to expect tax wise. I've been told I should consider starting a business to save on taxes and stuff. But I'm clueless. And honestly, very poor atm because I'm working free until the profits come in so I can't exactly afford to go to an accountant or business person right now to ask myself (I'm lucky enough to be related to a lawyer who does stuff for free on that end).

Any help?

vangogh
03-27-2013, 12:54 AM
Welcome to the forum NoBusinessBrains. I'm not the best person to answer your question, but I wanted to reply to keep the thread active until someone who can answer better sees it. I'll offer some thoughts, but take them with a grain of salt.

If you entered into a partnership agreement, I would think the business has to send you some paperwork as to how much money you earn through the business. At least that's how I think it works here in the U.S. Since this company resides in the U.K. there may be different rules.