PDA

View Full Version : equity / shares in new business proposal

user8338
03-27-2013, 10:22 PM
Hi,
I am a business owner. My business partner and I have an opportunity to launch another company. Our current (2.5 year --new) business is consuming all of our time so we've turned to a friend to help us. He's written the business plan, is willing to launch the business, and is also committed to generating potential sales during the roll-out phase of the business. (I've outlined additional details below.) We've discussed giving him a percentage of the business in return for his initial work. We need advice on what percentage we should give our friend, if any, and have also considered increasing that percentage after an initial time period -- and based on a predetermined level of success.

Here are the details:

WE (my partner and I) provided the idea/concept for the new company
WE have all the contacts regarding the production and distribution of the product
WE already have a good name in a business that is related to the new product
WE have business experience
WE do not want to invest capital in the new business but WE have outside people ready to invest capital.

HE put his time developing a business and marketing plan
HE will be in charge of developing the product and building new relationships with potential customers
HE is willing to cover some of the cost to launch the company.

Without giving anymore details about the product or business ideas, can anyone help me with ideas or baselines to set the percentage WE and HE deserve in this new adventure. As you may understand, he wants us to be 50/50 but I feel like our contribution (idea, contacts and a solid name/experience) is much more valuable.