PDA

View Full Version : How do I establish business partnership with wholesale companies ?

macy gray
07-18-2013, 11:49 AM
Hi there. I'm an young entrepreneur looking forward to sell some products online. I wish to ask you guys few questions about wholesale places.

I've created an LLC in Wyoming as an foreign entity (I'm a resident of European country). I've obtained my EIN number as well as certificate of LLC creation from Secretary of State. This is all I have for the moment. Here's a couple of questions I would like to ask:

1. I would like to ask which documents exactly are required by any professionally operating wholesale company to confirm me as a business partner and unlock the possibility to see their products and prices ? How to prove them in safe way that I am a legal LLC ?

2. Do I need to sign an agreement or some sort of contract before I'll take anything from them ? I ask this for my own safety as I've heard that there is a lot of scams out there. I would like to know what sort of protection I can have while cooperating with any wholesale company ?

3. How can I know if a particular wholesale company is legit and trusty ? Where I can find them ?

Any help will be equal to gold for me :)

Cheers !

Fulcrum
07-18-2013, 05:18 PM
A better idea may be to try and contact the manufacturer directly and they will tell you the name of their distributor if they won't deal directly with you. Google is a great resource if you have the patience to sift through several hundred/thousand links to find the one you are looking for.

As for documentation, I don't think anyone can really give a concrete answer until you talk to the distributor/manufacturer as some will want different things. If you start ordering in large volume, there is a possibility that your supplier will require "proof of funds" before they will issue you any kind of significant credit.