PDA

View Full Version : Franchising

DetailsCleaningService
08-07-2013, 09:42 PM
I'm a very new business owner where I'm at in town and my long term goal is to franchise my business. I just need some more information on it though like
1. What does it take to franchise?
2. Should I get a small business loan or investors?
3. What are common problems franchise owners face?
4. Where should I start?!

Wozcreative
08-08-2013, 10:43 AM
1. What does it take to franchise?
I don't know too much, but I do know for a fact that you will need to:
A) Put together a business plan
B) Supply concrete data on yearly, seasonally, weekly, daily statistics on revenue of your current business
C) Be in business that has shown 5+ years of profit
D) Branding Manual Guidelines
E) Breakdown of cost for employees, rent etc.
F) Breakdown of what you will offer as the owner of the franchise and how much you are going to charge
G) Breakdown of what the franchisee will be supplied by you for their monthly/yearly fees
H) Any specific insurance info they will need to get
I) Rules about opening up business in your area.. or how small they can start (yes you will need to do that if you plan on having many franchisees.. join.. you don't want one person to bomb and ruin it for you)
J) You will have to have a rule of how much money someone needs to start their own business before you allow it
K) Have a lawyer look over all the paperwork and supply any legal documents you will need

2. Should I get a small business loan or investors?
Depends on your financial standing. Get a financial advisor.

3. What are common problems franchise owners face?
A) Trying to franchise too early
B) Not realizing their first business worked because of location only
C) Taking on a franchisee and having them bomb their brand
D) Not having a concrete brand mannual with marketing material that has specific rules that need to be followed for continuity (extremely important)

4. Where should I start?!